What to Know About Hospice Care Options

If you are caring for a seriously ill loved one, you may be considering hospice. Hospice offers a broad range of services and support to those nearing End of Life. It also provides families with grief support after a loved one passes away.

What Services Does Hospice Offer?

Hospice offers an End of Life care team that includes loved ones, healthcare providers, volunteers, counselors and therapists. The hospice team develops a care plan to meet a patient’s unique needs, and may offer services including:

  • Pain and symptom management
  • Support with the emotional, psychosocial and spiritual aspects of End of Life
  • Medications, medical supplies and equipment
  • Personal care services
  • Nutritional, speech and physical therapy
  • Family support including spiritual and bereavement counseling services
  • Temporary inpatient care when pain exceeds home care options or when caregivers need rest
What are the Hospice Care Levels?

There are four levels of hospice care in the US. A patient may rotate between one of the following care levels depending on their unique needs:

  • Routine Home Care (RHC) – Patient Is At Home with Controlled Symptoms RHC is the most common type of US hospice care. With RHC, the patient’s physical symptoms can be controlled by care that’s administered at home or a long-term care facility. If needed, a patient may receive up to 24 hours a day services from registered nurses, social workers, religious or spiritual guides, home health aides, counselors, medications or equipment.
© Copyright 2019 Passare, Inc. All Rights Reserved.